• The British Royal Family Tree


    British Royal Family

    The Current British Royal Family

    Welcome to the British Royal Family Tree website  - I hope that you will enjoy exploring this site and find it helpful, useful and informative. The information I have provided is not exhaustive but there are many useful resource links on each of the Royal Houses and Member pages for those of you who need to research to a greater depth. At this present time the site is still in construction and some pages still have content to be added, so if there is anything that you feel you would like to see that may add to your enjoyment please use the contact us link to contact me. You may also wish to consider building your own family tree and I have a section giving tips and advice at build your own family tree  which I hope will encourage you to discover your own lineage. You never know, you may possibly find that you are one of over 100,000 people who can claim to be related to King Henry VII and therefore part of the extended Royal Family Tree!

    Please feel free to use and copy the family tree images which are copyright of British Royal Family Tree for your own use, but a link back to the site page you found it on would be very much appreciated.


    Follow us on Facebook


    The Kingdom of Great Britain came into being in 1707 which was as a result of the political union of England and Scotland under the monarch at the time, Queen Anne. Since the union there have been three officially recognised Royal Houses. The British Royal Family Tree can be divided into three branches, The House of Hanover (1714-1901), The House of Saxe-Coburg & Gotha (1901-1917) and the present house, The House of Windsor (1917 – present day) which is technically part of the Saxe Coburg Gotha House. However for historical interest I have also included The House of Stuart,(1603- 1689  & 1702-1714)  The House of Orange (1689-1702) and perhaps one the most most famous houses in British  history, The House of Tudor (1485-1603).

    The Kingdom of Scotland Queen Elizabeth II - The current monarch of the British Royal Family Treehad been in personal union under the House of Stuart since the 24th of  March 1603. James Stuart, who had succeeded separately to the thrones of Scotland as King James VI and then to England as King James I, proclaimed himself as “King of Great Brittaine, France and Ireland” on the 20th of  October 1604. However, Scotland and England were still legally countries in their own right until 1707 when on the 1st of May, the United Kingdom of Great Britain was formed  with the merger of the Kingdoms of England and  Scotland. On the 1st of  January 1801, Great Britain then merged with the Kingdom of Ireland to form the “United Kingdom of Great Britain and Ireland”.

    After most of Ireland left the union on the 6th December 1922, the title was amended on the 12th of April 1927 to “The United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland” which is how it remains today.

    From it’s inception in 1707 there have been 12 monarchs of Great Britain and the United Kingdom (the Monarchy of the United Kingdom), and from the reign of King Henry VII there have been twenty three. You can find more information by clicking on the menus above or looking at each of the British Royal Family Trees that I have created for you under each Royal House. I very much hope you enjoy reading and researching Britsh Royal Family Tree.